profile picture
PersonnalInformations

British
Living in Harpenden (UK)
A Town near London
Fintan - 9 - boy
Ruby - 15 - girl

Atheist
One parent family
Charity.
Charity.
Music - piano, viloin and cornet playing as well as singing and listening to music, art and design, dance, football and tennis, cycling and hill walking, great books, good food, Minecraft.

YOUNG FAMILY PROFILE We’re looking for someone who is a warm, happy person, a natural with the children, a self-starter and meticulous about their work. The role involves lots of variety, and a balance between looking after the children and looking after the home. First and foremost, you need to create a rapport with the children, take an interest in their lives, listen to them carefully and provide emotional and practical support. My daughter will be 15 in August, and will be starting her last year at high school. She’s super-smart and independent – our previous au pairs find her very mature, more like an older teen. She has a busy school and homework schedule. She takes ballet classes twice a week, she sings and plays piano. She teaches piano too and will be studying for a grade exam this year. She also likes to meet with friends, have them at home for sleepovers and make food with them. Your role is to help her be organized and prepared so she can enjoy her activities, discuss her day, support her self-directed learning and encourage her to socialise – and she definitely needs help learning how to keep that bedroom tidy! You also need to establish a rapport with her – find out what she’s thinking about, and be a friend to talk with. My son is 9 and a half. He’s so happy and loving. He loves his friends – and one of your important jobs will be to book play-dates and enable him to hang out with them. He loves Minecraft and endless inventing, TV like the Lego movie and Sherlock Holmes, and he won’t go to bed without a good story - though he's a great independent reader now and is often engrossed in a book. And then there are the things he doesn’t love – on which, you’ll never get him to budge! Your role is to facilitate good routines – schools drop-offs and pick-ups, homework, taking him to after school activities like tennis, swim with him – and talk with him, developing his ability to manage himself, relate to others, enrich his work. He too is intelligent, and again, au pairs remark he is mature, so while of course, your approach needs to be age-appropriate, you can talk with him about many things like a peer. I work full time in London/from home in the charity sector. I like great literature, art and design, cycling and hill walking. We’re largely vegetarian and make all our own food. We live with Audey and Jude, two black cats. And two new ducklings - they're not old enough to be sure of their gender so names to be confirmed. They love eating bugs. Dad lives in Luton, and the children stay with him Thursday evening to Tuesday morning every other week and half the holidays. The role includes housework. The detailed scheduled can be sent by email. This is an important part of your job and you must be prepared to pay attention to the regular and detailed work needed to keep the house tidy and clean. We are offering an au pair engagement for 25hrs per week, with full board and pocket money at £80 per week. Hours are typically 7.30-9am and 3pm to 7pm Monday to Friday. In the main, you are entirely free weekends and during the day, and you should feel free to use that time as you wish. Au pairs who make a success of their stay tend to have a clear idea of what they want to do with their time and have variously taken English classes, studied for their dissertation or exams, or followed an exercise regime to get fit, as well as arranged to see friends or attractions in London. You have a lot of time to fill and should give plenty of thought to the goals or routine you envisage. In addition to UK public holidays, you will have 20 days pro rata paid annual leave. We are seeking someone who can start 29 August 2016 and commit to their placement until late July 2017. We would prefer someone over 21 but we have just had a very effective au pair who is younger so maturity and professionalism are what matter. We live in Harpenden, in Hertfordshire, a 24mins train journey directly north of London. Harpenden is an attractive small town which feels safe and welcoming. It has a large common at one end of the High Street, and the High Street is traditional, with attractive buildings and trees. There are a range of shops including coffee shops, hair dressers, a stationers, a book shop, pharmacies, supermarkets, and a range of independent women’s clothing boutiques and gift stores. There is a large park, sports centre, 25m pool and tennis courts, several pubs and a couple of bars, several restaurants offering Middle Eastern, Italian, Indian and Chinese cuisine. There is also a local au pair’s forum with meet-ups – a good way to help you find your feet and meet people. There are sometimes free elementary English language classes in Harpenden. Harpenden is a 6mins train journey from St Albans. St Albans was at the heart of Roman Britain and is home to a world-famous cathedral, it’s a historic market town with a thriving general market and a wider range of high street brands for clothes and other goods and services. It has numerous cafes, bars and clubs and is buzzy on a Friday and Saturday night – a good place to meet friends. You can also find Oaklands College here for a range of language classes (and another way to meet people). There is a fast train service to London, with only one stop at St Albans. So the journey time is the same as if you lived in zones 2 or 3 in London. You can get off at Kings Cross St Pancras for easy access to all parts of London, or stay on for Blackfriars to go straight to the South Bank on the River Thames for the Royal Festival Hall (world class live music), the National Theatre, art galleries, cafes and restaurants, architecture. The train line also connects directly to Gatwick Airport, and Brighton – a favourite seaside town on the South coast. As Harpenden is on the airport line, you’ll find services run late at night and start early. London Luton airport is 10mins away. We live in an attractive 4 bedroom house in the style of a Victorian semi-detached, but it’s also new, so warm and cosy with modern facilities. Your room looks West, and across the road onto the River Lea and tall woodland trees. There is a large green open space next to the trees, a conservation area, a children’s park and walks along the river. A good place to sunbathe or get some fresh air. Our house is on the edge of town. If you like the countryside, you can take country walks starting 5mins from the house.

Availability

Begin 29/08/2016
Needed for 10 months

Work

Require an au pair
Daily duties : Before and after school care. Walking Fintan to school, clearing dishes. Collecting him from school - taking him to tennis, swimming or coming home for play, homework, play dates with friends. Helping Ruby to organise bags and books and equipment for the next day. Making sure she does homework and piano practice. Daily tidy up. Regular cleaning - we have a two week rota for care and cleaning. Babysitting - minimal. Usually just a couple of hours every other week, mid-week. Sometimes an additional evening, occasionally two evenings - which are paid for in addition to basic pay.
Applicant will have sole charge of the children
More details : Hours as detailed. Very occasional babysitting in the evenings or at weekends. The children's Dad would also like to engage you for babysitting 3pm-6/7pm on alternate Thursdays. This arrangement is independent of the au pair engagement with me and you will be paid directly by Geoff at the market rate for this work - about £20 per week.
Weekly salary : £80
5 days of work per week
25 hours per week
Apllicant will be free at the weekend

Au Pair preferences

Wouldn't consider a male au pair
Wouldn't prefer a driver
Won't have to use the Family Car
Would prefer a non smoker
0 evenings babysitting per week

Home

4 bedrooms
3 bathroomss
1 garden
Two black cats.
No cleaner or any help available
Applicant will have their own room
Applicant will have their own bathroom

Facilities

Distance from public transports : less than 1 Mile
There are facilities to study English part time in our area